The Basic Gluten Free Diet - Getting Started

Excerpt from the Canadian Celiac Association, New Member Kit

Getting Started – The Basic Gluten Free Diet

Milk, cream, most ice cream, buttermilk, plain yogurt, cheese, cream cheese, processed cheese, processed cheese foods, cottage cheese

Breads: Bread and baked products containing amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn bran, corn flour, cornmeal, cornstarch, flax, legume flours (bean, garbanzo or chickpea, garfava, lentil, pea), millet, Montina™ Flour (Indian rice grass), potato flour, potato starch, quinoa, rice bran, rice flours (white, brown, sweet), sago, sorghum flour, soy flour, sweet potato flour, tapioca, and teff
Cereals: Hot: Puffed amaranth, cornmeal, cream of buckwheat, cream of rice (brown, white), hominy grits, rice flakes, quinoa flakes, soy flakes, and soy grits
Cold: Puffed amaranth, puffed buckwheat, puffed corn, puffed millet, puffed rice, rice flakes, and soy cereals
Pastas: Macaroni, spaghetti, and noodles from beans, corn, pea, potato, quinoa, rice, soy and wild rice
Miscellaneous: Corn tacos, corn tortillas

Meat, Fish, Poultry: Fresh
EGGS: Eggs
OTHERS: Lentils, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), peas, beans, nuts, seeds, tofu

Fruits: Fresh, frozen, and canned fruits and juices
Vegetables: Fresh, frozen, and canned vegetables and juices

Homemade broth, gluten-free bouillon cubes, cream soups and stocks made from ingredients allowed

Butter, margarine, lard, vegetable oil, cream, shortening, homemade salad dressing with allowed ingredients

Ice cream, sherbet, whipped toppings, egg custards, gelatin desserts; cakes, cookies, pastries made with allowed ingredients, gluten-free ice cream cones, wafers and waffles

Beverages: Tea, instant or ground coffee (regular or decaffeinated), cocoa, soft drinks, cider; distilled alcoholic beverages such as rum, gin, whiskey, vodka, wines, and pure liqueurs; some soy, rice and nut beverages
Sweets: Honey, jam, jelly, marmalade, corn syrup, maple syrup, molasses, sugar (brown and white), icing sugar (confectioner’s)
Snack Foods: Plain popcorn, nuts and soy nuts
Condiments: Plain pickles, relish, olives, ketchup, mustard, tomato paste, pure herbs and spices, pure black pepper, vinegars (apple or cider, distilled white, grape or wine, spirit), gluten-free soy sauce
Other: Sauces and gravies made with ingredients allowed, pure cocoa, pure baking chocolate, carob chips and powder, chocolate chips, monosodium glutamate (MSG), cream of tartar, baking soda, yeast, baker’s yeast, aspartame, coconut, vanilla, and gluten-free Communion wafers

Reprinted with permission from Practical Gastroenterology, Case, S, Dennis, M. Going Gluten-Free: A Primer for Clinicians, Practical Gastroenterology, April 2004.

Copyright© Canadian Celiac Association

Posted on August 26, 2015 and filed under You asked us.